Swimming Strokes

There are 4 recognized competitive swimming strokes and 3 common use survival strokes making it 7 (seven) Strokes altogether. The 4 strokes use in major swimming competitive are the Freestyle, the Breaststroke, the Backstroke and the Butterfly. And the 3 survival strokes are the Survival backstroke, the Side stroke and the Survival Breaststroke.

About Medley Swimming Event

Individual Medley in Swimming consist of One Swimmer swimming in the order of the 4 strokes which is Butterfly, Backstroke, Breaststroke and Freestyle.

In the Medley Relay, it consists of four different swimmers in one relay race, each swimming one of the four strokes. The order of the strokes are Backstroke, Breaststroke, Butterfly and Freestyle.

There are 4 types of Medley event namely

  • 200M Individual Medley
  • 400M Individual Medley
  • 4x100M Medley Relay
  • 4X100M Mixed Medley Relay -First such race in history (Tokyo Olympic 2020), which allows both gender to take part in the competition. The group consist of 2 men and 2 women.